Moving to Glasgow

Greetings lovely readers! Sorry for being on hiatus for more than a month! The fact is I just moved to Glasgow (that’s in Scotland) to pursue masters degree! Yeay! Not that my study is very busy at the moment, but I have been busy with settling in to the new environment and adapting myself to the new student life. So, in this writing let me introduce you to the city where I live at the moment.

I’m studying at the University of Glasgow. It’s one of the oldest universities in Scotland and the fouth oldest university in the UK. Why did I choose this uni was primarily because I fell in love with the campus building.

Jpeg
Glasgow University

Haha. It’s gorgeous! It looks like Harry Potter castle. However, UofG history and academic achievement are also cool! Adam Smith, pioneer of political economy, was its alumnus!

Our campus is located on Gillmore hill. Yes, It’s practically located on top of a hill. It’s not that high though but I always lose my breath whenever I climbed the stairs on the side of the hill on my way to class. It’s also huge that I kept getting lost during my first weeks at the uni.

Jpeg
The view from the back of the Uni

Due to its historical value, UofG is also one of tourist attraction in Glasgow. We have a campus tour at the uni for visitors! My favorit part of the campus is the Quadrangle (the Quads). We also have museum inside the main building. Anyway this is the second month I’m in Glasgow, but I had to admit I don’t know much about the campus building myself except the area where I usually take classes.

Jpeg

Jpeg
Eva at the Quadrangle
Jpeg
My friend Arum at the Cloister
Jpeg
Eva at the Hunterian Museum
Jpeg
Hunterian Museum

Jpeg

Jpeg
Met Fellow Students who travel from other city

Aside from my uni, there are plenty spots worth visiting in Glasgow. Kelvingrove Art Gallery and Museum, Kelvingrove park, The Necropolis, Glasgow Cathedral, Clyde Bridge and Science Center, City Center-Buchanan Street are some must visit places in Glasgow. Modes of transportation varies. The city has buses, train, subway, and bicycle. A hop on hop off bus visiting the various touristic spots is also availble. Buses are quite expensive, it costs 2 pounds per ride. During my first weeks here I prefer walking as the places I visited is only about 30 minutes away on foot.

Jpeg
Kelvingrove Art Gallery and Museum
Jpeg
River Clyde
Jpeg
Glasgow Science Center
IMG-20150909-WA0009
Kelvingrove Park
Jpeg
The City Center
Jpeg
The Necropolis

Glasgow weather, as any other UK’s city you may know, changes pretty quickly. One day on my way back to my flat from campus, I found a sunny, windy, and rainy day at the same time! But apart from the rather changing weather, Glasgow is a cool place! It’s close to Edinburgh, the capital of Scotland, and it’s not so far from other touristic spots of Scotland. I have been traveling on a day trip to various places in Scotland since I moved here. The people are nice too. There is a custom here and in Scotland in general I think, that you held the door open for the person behind you whenever you’re about to enter or exit from the building. Just bear in mind to do that and whenever you get lost, don’t hesitate to ask people for direction. So, that’s it for now. I’ll tell you more about my trips here and some other interesting places later. Cheers!

Jpeg
Cheers!

(npa)

2 thoughts on “Moving to Glasgow

Leave a Reply

