Walking Around Geneva

Crowds of old buildings
Crowds of old buildings

It was my 4th day in Geneva. It was just a start. I did not experience too much jet lag (except when communicating with my bf :p). One Saturday I woke up a bit early though at night I already decided that I NEEDED to visit the farmers market. Not that because I need something in particular. It was just because I love seeing fresh fruits exposed on the stalls. It would be spoiling my eyes, I thought.

When I opened my eyes that morning, I was debating within whether I had to stay warm under the blanket or wake up and see around. I decided to do both. 😀 I snuggled a little then I rose to wash my fact to walk around (I did not even take a shower first – which is a shame in Indonesian culture :p). My destination was Saturday’s farmers market located in the Place de la Fusterie as it is within walkable distance from my apartment.

I walked and I walked. At first I relied on my google maps, but it did not work as I did not have internet access (the GPS on my mobile is so slow!). At the end, I said “whatever! I am going where my feets going!”

I passed Navigation. I passed Monthoux. I passed des Alpes. Then I turned left and found my self standing by the river where the Jet D’eau lies. Though I know that it is one of the land mark of Geneva, that Saturday was the first time I saw it. Nothing special. But Rhone river is extremely clean!

Rhone River - I am amazed how clean the rivers here in Switzerland!
Rhone River – I am amazed how clean the rivers here in Switzerland!

I continued walking again. I thought I was about to open a bank account at the Post Finance near Gare Cornavin, but my feet decided that we went to the Old Town instead! Again, I found my self heading to a classic building which I had seen from afar. I hiked the road and got hungry. I looked around a bit and saw a little nice boulangerie and bought a croissant des amandes which was nice but too sweet for my liking (I’d prefer the almond croissant of Ohlala Cafe back in Jakarta, bigger and half cheaper!).

The tip of Saint Pierre Church.
The tip of Saint Pierre Church.

IMG_5651

The ceiling of Saint Pierre Church
The ceiling of Saint Pierre Church

Then I was back to the little road leading to the old town! There are lots of cute shops. I felt like I wanted to rob all of them! :p Finaly, I reached the classic building that I mentioned earlier. It was Saint-Pierre Cathedral. It’s located within small streets of the old town. I roamed in and went here and there then I found something interesting: tower tour!

Stairs for a person only.
Stairs for a person only.

For only 5 francs, we can enjoy the panorama of Geneva from the tower of Saint Pierre Church. Other than that, we can also see the construction within the tower.  The way to the above was rather tiring. Haha.. I know I know.. I should exercise more! I had to climb a narrow stair to the above pavilion. The stairs alley is so small that only one person can fit. There is even a “traffic” light which tells us when we can go up or down. Then I arrived in the pavilion. You

wanna know what I found? Two chambers, a bridge linking them and and two other stairs, each in every chamber, to climb!

The common room in the tower.
The common room in the tower.
The bridge between the towers.
The bridge between the towers.
Ancient toilet!
Ancient toilet!

The stairs are leading us to either north or south tower, from which we can see the view of Geneva from above! It was pretty amazing, I must say. In the north tower, there is a common room, complete with an aged toilet (which, I believe, is no longer functioning :D). From the plan brochure, it seems that the room is going to be used for some kind of exhibition, probably relating to the history of the church and the changes from time to time. In the other tower, there is also a room containing some old furnitures which used to be use. Too bad it was not open when I visited.

IMG_5672

View from the other side
View from the other side
The body of water over there is not a sea, it's a lake!
The body of water over there is not a sea, it’s a lake!

Overall, this site is one of my favorite sites in the city. If you come to Geneva and got confused about where to go, the tower of Saint Pierre can be one of your answers!

4 thoughts on “Walking Around Geneva

    1. It’s almost inexistant in Switzerland. Switzerland is one of the safest country I have ever been into. However, if you travel during summer, just be more careful because it’s crowded everywhere (especially in the public transportations).

Leave a Reply

