Komodo: The Last Dragon (Part 2)

On board!
On board!

It was hard for me to sleep at our cabin in the boat. It was extremely hot inside that I became so sweaty. The electricity was only on from 18.30 to 24.00, yet the fans in our room seemed to be in need of repair. They were unable to be used! Arini had opened the window but even the wind did not blow. It became worse when I felt how damp the beds and found some cockroaches walking here and there. Oh well… you got what you paid, right? Putu and I were so close to sleep on the deck to feel the breezing wind but afraid of getting sick. *silly enough?*

It was when I charged my blackberry and suddenly got so many e-mails to respond. I thought the signal was so bad that I would not have been able to receive any e-mail. Then I decided to chat with some friends on bbm ‘til I got tired and fell asleep. I only slept for few hours until I finally got waken up again and couldn’t sleep again. It was dawn when the sky was the darkest. I decided to go upstairs to get some air and wait for the sunrise! The sky was clear and full of stars. I was even able to see the glimpse of Milky Way! Too bad my camera was not good enough to capture it. Few hours after, I saw my first sunrise from the sea of Komodo National Park which was indeed spectacular!

Good morning from Komodo National Park!
Good morning from Komodo National Park!

As the morning came, we sailed off the sea. We looked at beautiful scenery of savanna hills that somehow reminded me with the scene of the ‘Lord of the Ring’.

Picture 2619

Savana hills that we passed by on board.
Savana hills that we passed by on board.

We were also served delicious breakfast on board – something that I did not expect in the beginning considering how cheap we paid for the tour and accommodation there!

Simplicity is a luxury
Typical lunch on board: simplicity is a luxury
Simple yet yummy breakfast
Simple yet yummy breakfast

Later on, we went to Loh Liang in Komodo Island to see more komodo. We were even  luckier that day. We were able to see many of them, the komodo were everywhere – from the forest to the beach! Firstly, we were given options of walking trails. After discussing, we decided to choose the medium trail. We were being told over and over to stay on the path to be safe.

The Loh Liang walking trails
The Loh Liang walking trails

The very first komodo we met was relaxing under the shades of trees in the forest. The ranger told us it was a female komodo from its body size. But wen she was aware that there are strangers, she started to become alert — you can see how she looked at the camera.

Just chillin'.
Just chillin’.
The komodo posed for us!
“I’m done here!”

Even we met one of them walking on the path. It was funny when it saw us walking it instantly walked to the side of the road and stopped a while. We, the human also did the same thing. Then he did something like a pose and walked again gracefully.

Crossing path
Crossing path
"I am sure humans cannot see me here."
“I am sure humans cannot see me here.”

The ranger told us that the komodo was alert and we should have been ready to climb the trees if he ran towards us because zig-zag running wouldn’t work! Ha..! And of course he was joking. -_-

Snoozing.
Snoozing.

Besides komodos, we also met some deers, birds, and boars during the komodo watching. Due to limited resources (and skills), I only managed to capture few pictures of them. They moved really fast when humans around.

The trails.
The trails.

We walked and climbed a bit to a point known as Shulphurea hill.  It was known to be near komodo nest, which was proven to be true!

Komodo: what these people do?
Komodo: what these people do?
Shulphurea Hill
Shulphurea Hill

We were also told that there were three poachers inside the forest during our visit. They illegally hunted the animals and were declared as wanted persons by the local police. That is scary! We are not sure how the case is going now. I would not be sorry if the komodo ate them. The walking trail ended at the path near the beach. It took us about two hours from the start to the end.

Biggest komodo we met during the trip!
Biggest komodo we met during the trip!
It really was HUGE!!
It really was HUGE!!

As you may guess, the fun did not end just like that! At the same day, we visited the infamous pink beach. To reach the beach, we have to swim as the boat may not go near it to protect the corals.

It's pink, beach!
It’s pink, beach!
Pink beach from up on the hill.
Pink beach from up on the hill.
up! up! up!
up! up! up!

It was really pretty. The corals were so colorful and look happy. The fishes swam here and there as though they had been trying to attract us. I swam so slowly in my safety jackets as I don’t know how to swim without one. Instead of fins, I wore my hiking sandals instead -_- which slowed me down. It took me 45 minutes just to get to the shore. Hahaha.. I spent some time to snorkel around and do this stupid floating trick by the shore after being taught by Putu and the guide.

Our signature stupid floating style. :D
Our signature stupid floating style. 😀

All in all, it was such an unforgettable moment! Not only that the Park was still pristine, the trip also made us know each other even more. As the night came, we changed our schedule from adventuring to relaxing. It can be so boring on the board, but it won’t be so long as you are with the right persons (and if you have a pack of card to play, or in my case, watch.) (eff).

Night activity: playing cards!
Night activity: playing cards!

P.S.: Should you have a time to spare to go there, remember: do not take anything but pictures or leave anything but footprints!

P.S.S.: For those who intend to go to Komodo National Park, we highly recommend to use the service of Komodo Mega Tour. Great service for very affordable price – of course the price go in line with the boat facility you get during your stay. Leave comment if you’d like to have their contact.

2 thoughts on “Komodo: The Last Dragon (Part 2)

Leave a Reply

